So, You Have A Friend or Two Who Are Shooting For Their Goals As You Secretly Hope They Fail? Don’t Think For a Second That They Don’t Know Who You Are

slander defamation

In a perfect world, our “friends” would never hope for our failure. They’re our FRIENDS, right? As SOME of us shoot for our goals and dreams, of course our enemies would want us to fail, but NO WAY our own friends would secretly hope we’d fall. Absolutely not. They’re our friends because they’re ALWAYS in our corners in EVERYTHING we do…right?

Sarcasm aside, this just doesn’t happen, and many of you reading this know that. You’re either one who is shooting for something big or you’re that person who, out of guilt, have a friend or two going after something and you secretly hope they fail at it, of course, since you haven’t accomplished much yourself. Well, I’m going to help you out. You can thank me later.

First, let me tell a little about myself to those who don’t know. I inspire to become a screenwriter, whether for the movies or television. Screenwriting has the potential to be a VERY lucrative career. Yes, people…as much as I don’t care to talk about it, a successful screenwriter can make a TON of money doing so, not to mention have a successful movie or television show in existence. He or she could also be a writer of a television show (even if they didn’t create the show themselves) and do VERY well.

Now, as much as I would love that everyone who calls themselves my “friend,” whether I’ve known you for a month or 20 years, is behind me 100% as I work VERY hard toward this, stupid is one thing I’m not. I know many of you reading this hope I never make it. That’s okay. There are even many of you who are only around because when (damn right, I said WHEN) I make it happen, you can either brag about knowing me or you can try and get a piece of the pie. That’s a blog for another time.

The thing about secretly hoping that your friends fail is this: WE ALREADY KNOW WHO YOU ARE. That’s right; you don’t have to wear a sign or tell us to our faces. Besides, let’s think about this for a second; how would that look? Of course you wouldn’t tell someone you call a “friend” that you expect them to fail. It’s all in what you do or many times DON’T do that lets us know. And the longer we’ve known you, the more obvious it is. Trust me; to not say anything at all doesn’t hide a thing. Looking at everything as a whole, many times, the silence tells the entire story.

That does NOT mean that every time I mention screenwriting, break out in the cheers. Sometimes that is attempt to hide, especially considering what exactly is said. That’s all I’ll say on that. Just know that if we have the drive, determination and commitment to go after something as big as our dreams, we’re probably, just probably smart enough to see through you, whether you say nothing or you give us over-the-top encouragement that seems forced.

So how exactly can we tell? Now now…I can’t tell you exactly how I know. But I’m looking at every one of my Facebook friends (since many of you are the ones who know) and believe me, I’ve already determined who falls into this category. Again, it doesn’t matter if I’ve known you for a month or many years. I could tell a long time ago. Now don’t assume the wrong thing from all this. Being quiet doesn’t automatically mean you’re guilty of it, nor does giving me GENUINE encouragement. It’s the stuff that’s somewhere in the middle of all that that many of you do that stands out to me and anyone else going after something like a sore thumb. If I told you everything, then all you would do is make more of an effort to do (or not do) whatever it is. And that would be no fun.

Just thought I’d give you a little heads up that if you’re a friend and you’re hoping we fail at achieving our dreams, don’t try so hard. We already know who you are. You’re welcome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

