One Day, Many Of Us Will See This…And Soon, I Hope

Slide1

It looks great, doesn’t it? At least to me, it looks AMAZING. This would be part of the opening credits of a movie, but if it were the opening credits of a television show, it would say “Created By,” which would look equally as wonderful.

I’ve been working at this for a little over a year now and I’ve enjoyed every minute of it. You know the saying, “Find a job you love and you’ll never work a day in your life”? For the longest time, I thought that was nothing more than a “feel-good” expression and was simply impossible, but after doing this for this amount of time, I’ve found something that certainly does not feel like “work.”

Don’t get me wrong. Screenwriting IS work and VERY hard work at times. It doesn’t feel so much like that to me because I look forward to doing it, but by no means is it a walk in the park. There aren’t many things that would make me stay up all hours of the night; talking to my wife is one reason and working on screenplays is the other.

One of the best aspect of writing screenplays is that I’m able to tap a part of mind that holds a TON of creativity. I actually grew up hating to tell stories because I always thought I did such a lousy job, but the stories were apparently tucked away in this part of my mind and all I needed to do was discover screenwriting to get them out.

One of the most rewarding aspects so far is the feedback I’ve received when entering contests. Unfortunately, I haven’t won any just yet, but what I receive in the feedback is amazing. It seems that they’re all impressed with my dialogue among my characters. Some plots have worked and others didn’t. All my writer friends know that when it comes to feedback, sometimes we have to take it with a grain of salt, because the next person could come along and absolutely LOVE what the first just said he or she hated. What exactly does that tell you? That what you did worked or it didn’t? It’s hard to tell sometimes.

Something that has surprised me more than once is the compliments I’ve received when I decided to try something daring. For example, one of my screenplays features a rape. Now I did not want to touch this at first because of its nature. I was concerned about “cheapening” the event. I started to not include it at all, but on the advice of some research, I decided to go with it anyway.

I really took myself to what I felt was a dark place and tried to picture the entire ordeal. I know that I could NEVER TRULY get it, but I tried as best as I could as a writer. I certainly did not want to ask any of my female friends this had happened to, because I would never want to take them there again. My biggest concern when receiving feedback was that part of the script.

Apparently, the judges were impressed with that scene. One even said that they wondered “what would happen if the writer (me) were to do a thriller.” I never even considered something like that, but this is what I love most about writing. I get into my zone and even I’m amazed at times at what comes out.

I still have a TON of work to do to become successful at this and I’m working as much as possible by writing new screenplays once I finish others. I’ve also contacted agencies and will continue to do so. With each contest I’ve entered (and I’ve lost count as to how many by now), I seem to get just a little further than the last, so I’m very encouraged that I can make this happen. The progress is slow, but it’s still progress and I feel like I’m actually getting better the longer I work at it.

So, why do I want to do this? I want to create a product that people can enjoy. I want to entertain. I want to be the reason people rush home or put everything aside for the hour (if it’s television) or go out and enjoy an evening (if it’s a movie). I look at some of the shows on the air now and how people just cannot wait to see the next installments and that’s what I’m working toward. That’s the feeling I want to be responsible for. That’s why I want to do this. I simply love to write and if I can make a person’s day, night, month or even whole season, hell, maybe multiple seasons, then all this hard work will have definitely been worth it.

That’s enough of a break for now. Time for me to get back to it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

