So, Ladies…Jeremy Meeks, the “Handsome” Felon Or…Me? I Think We Already Know The Answer To That One

Blank

Take a look at these two pictures. I am the one on the right. Now let me be realistic. I don’t know too many women who would look at these pictures and say that I am more attractive than the man on the left. Being an intelligent, almost 35-year-old man, I can honestly say that I wouldn’t blame a single one of them. Light-skinned, good cheekbones and who DOESN’T like blue eyes, especially on a light-skinned/black man? It’s pretty rare in us and I wouldn’t mind having blue eyes myself. I’m secure enough in my manhood that I don’t have a problem saying any of those things. I know what the reality is.

As for me…I’m really nothing special. I’m originally from Baltimore. I’m two classes away from my Associates Degree. I’ve been in the Army for nearly 17 years and am currently in Afghanistan for another few months. I’ve been married for almost 15 years and my wife and I have two children together. There’s probably more, but that’s the main stuff.

Now as for the man on the left, his picture is a lot more popular than mine and here’s why. The Stockton Police Department in Stockton, California, posted his picture on their Facebook page. His name is Jeremy Meeks, and this is his mug shot. I’m not exactly sure why they posted his picture in this case, but it’s not uncommon that police departments do this. Taken straight from the Stockton Police Department Facebook page, per the San Joaquin County District Attorney (If you don’t want to read, feel free to advance past it):

“PEOPLE V JEREMY MEEKS. MEEKS, 30, WAS CHARGED TODAY BY WAY OF COMPLAINT. THE COMPLAINT ALLEGES THAT MEEKS IS A FELON IN POSSESSION OF A FIREARM, ALONG WITH OTHER FIREARM AND GANG RELATED CHARGES. AT HIS ARRAIGNMENT, HIS BAIL WAS RAISED TO $1,000,000 AND HE WAS APPOINTED A PUBLIC DEFENDER. HIS NEXT COURT DATE IS JUNE 27TH AT 8:30 A.M.

MEEKS WAS STOPPED BY STOCKTON POLICE YESTERDAY AT APPROXIMATELY 6:30 A.M. AFTER HE AND OTHERS WERE OBSERVED LEAVING A HOME WHERE A SEARCH WARRANT WAS ABOUT TO BE EXECUTED. MEEKS WAS THE DRIVER OF A CAR WITH TWO PASSENGERS; ONE OF THE PASSENGERS IS TERRY BAILEY, 23, WHO IS ON PROBATION. BAILEY WILL ALSO BE SIMILARLY CHARGED.

A SEARCH OF THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT YIELDED A 9MM ROUND OF AMMUNITION AND A SMALL AMOUNT OF WHAT IS BELIEVED TO BE MARIJUANA. A SEARCH OF THE TRUNK LOCATED AN UNREGISTERED AND LOADE SPRINGFIELD ARMYORY .45 CALIBER XD(M) SEMI-AUTOMATIC HANDGUN ALONG WITH TWO EXTENDED MAGAZINES FOR THE FIREARM.

MEEKS, HAS A FELONY CONVICTION AND A TWO-YEAR STATE PRISON SENTENCE STEMMING FROM A 2002 CONVICTION FOR GRAND THEFT FROM A PERSON (A LESSER OFFENSE TO A ROBBERY) OUT OF SOLANO COUNTY. HIS DOUCMENTED GANG MEMBERSHIP, AS WELL AS BAILEY’S WITH NORTHSIDE GANGSTER CRIPS FORMS THE BASIS FOR THE GANG ALLEGATIONS IN THE COMPLAINT.
A RECENT RESISTING ARREST CONVICTION SUFFERED BY MEEKS OUT OF MANTECA WILL RESULT IN A VIOLATION OF PROBATION ALSO BEING FILED TODAY.”

Now anyone who knows me knows that I am not the type to focus on the negative, but this is about all that is known about this man. I have no idea what his life is like normally. To be fair, I don’t have a spotless police record.

This will surprise a lot of my friends, but when I was a teenager, I was arrested for shoplifting. Two video game controllers. To be honest, that’s it. That was more than enough for me. Something about getting shoved to the ground and handcuffs put on that gave me the feeling of NEVER wanting to experience that again.

Now, I’m nowhere near perfect or better than anyone. Not even close. Now that that’s out of the way, let me be a little more candid.

It shouldn’t be a surprise that women all over are fawning over this man’s picture. To find him attractive isn’t the problem; even to say that he’s HOT; I can buy that, IF that was as far as it went. But we all know society, and they never disappoint.

Looking at that same Facebook page and paraphrasing, there are some of the most disgusting, sickening, pathetic and downright embarrassing comments from women. There are women saying that it “doesn’t matter what he did.” One said that she hopes he’s released just so he can get into modeling. One of my very good friends said that a woman said that she hopes he’s released to house arrest and if so, she’ll open her house up to him and not having seen the comment myself, I very much believe my friend, considering what else I’ve read. Another woman tweeted something to the effect of, “What’s a few felony weapons charges when you have the face of an angel?” along with the hashtag of “#FutureBabyDaddy,” which I’m sure was impressive to all the MATURE women out there.

Of course, there are several men who negatively responded and the typical responses by these women followed. We’re “haters,” we “wish we looked as good as he does,” and we need to “stop being jealous.” On top of that, there’s the “Don’t judge” and “Nobody’s perfect” BS all over the place, too, along with “Everyone deserves second chances.”

If you happen to be one of those ladies, let me tell you something. First of all, don’t even use “jealousy” in ANY sentence with this guy that includes me. I accepted a LONG time ago that I’d never be model material, but let’s not get things twisted. I’m in MUCH better shape than he is and ever will be and that’s a fact. I have a wife of almost 15 years and two amazing children, not to mention a long career in which I can retire and start drawing a pension in three years, along with ambitions that I’d put up against ANYBODY’S.
Second, it’s not simply the compliments of his looks that make you sound absolutely pathetic. It’s the fact that EVERYTHING YOU ARE SAYING IS SOMEHOW CONNECTED TO THAT. Get that, ladies? As my very first paragraph states, even I’ll admit that the brother is good-looking. But all these “second chances” and “don’t judge” and “he can come and live with me” and all that foolishness; let me ask you…what other mug shots have you done that with? If you want to claim that looks have nothing to do with it, show me other examples where you’ve said these same things about AVERAGE-looking and/or unattractive men. Since I know you can’t…THAT’S THE PROBLEM.

Not solely because you find him attractive. Somehow, I think a lot will still miss that.

Now ladies, before you say “Well, men do it, too!” Yes, we do…but to say that also means that you’re not admitting that you’re wrong; you say that it’s all right because men do the same thing, as if WE aren’t wrong (and stupid) for doing it also. Not to mention, I actually do NOT do this. When I see a woman’s mug shot, the fact that it’s a mug shot is enough of a turnoff. I honestly don’t care how she looks. That’s hard for many to believe, but that shows how screwed up society to not believe it’s possible for a man’s mind to ever go there.

Which brings up another point and further proves the embarrassing and sometimes hopeless state of society. Damn near all the reactions are about his looks. Women are basically throwing themselves at this guy’s mug shot and willing to open their whole lives up to him. No, that’s NOT an exaggeration. Many are flat-out saying this. They’re saying things like they, “hope he gets a second chance because it’s a shame that someone so hot is screwing his life up,” as if someone unattractive is better suited to screw HIS life up.

It’s just like when that attractive celebrity passes away. It never fails; there’s always a woman who says, “What a shame. He was so cute!” as if a celebrity who wasn’t cute deserves to die for some reason. Now whenever that’s mentioned, these same women get upset and, just like in this case, they say, “We can say he’s hot if we want to!” Yes, you can, ladies. If you want to drool all over your keyboards, that’s entirely up to you. That’s not the problem. It’s all the fawning and disappointment, “because he’s good looking” that’s the problem and makes you sound absolutely embarrassing.

I don’t doubt that many reading this will still not get what the issue is. You’ll still say that I’m jealous…that I’m a hater…that I’m not allowed to judge him…that I wish I looked like him…that he deserves a second chance because of how fine he is…that we need to reserve judgment until we have all the facts…and the list goes on.

And let me NOT forget…while I don’t know anything more about this man, let me tell you one thing I HAVE noticed throughout my life. It’s guys like these who look good who are the ones women throw themselves at as far as relationships, sex and having children with, go. Never fails. Not to say all men who look good turn out to be deadbeats, but a lot of them do, and there are WAY too many women out there who are in denial about that. Many times, the guy doesn’t “turn out” to be a deadbeat…he’s there from the very beginning. But ah, yes…the good looks are enough to make some women just plum stupid and not want to notice.

Fast forward to if and when this guy leaves her with the children or cheats on her multiple times. Now she hates the world and “all men are idiots” because of the dumb decision SHE made. All because she went ga-ga over looks and didn’t care in the beginning about much else. It’s all our faults somehow. Again, this is NOT every good-looking man out there, but when it does happen, this is why, just about every time. I know too many women out there who try to pass themselves off as being more mature than they are and in those efforts, they show that they’re even worse than many of the same men they’re putting down.

This just goes on to prove what many of us already know…that for the most part, society is still so wrapped up a person’s looks that not much else matters. Apparently, the “not much else” also includes a mug shot and extensive police record.

And of course, I wish it only stopped there. But as I said above…society…they NEVER disappoint.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

