My Last Blog Post From Afghanistan-Part Two: To All Those Who Say “Thank You”

Soldiers_letter_from_child-SavannahsSoldiers[1]

I can’t believe I forgot to mention this in my post yesterday. I’d be remiss to write for the last time in Afghanistan without mention something very near and dear to my heart. It’s to the MANY folks who have said THANK YOU in some way. I almost don’t want to list the ways, because the last thing I’d ever want to do is to leave something or someone out, but I will give it a try.

The care packages have been great. They’ve been coming out here faster than we can get rid of them. I say “get rid of” not meaning to “throw away,” but to utilize the items. I’ve personally seen care packages delivered to our building every few days…and that’s just what I’VE seen, which means it’s likely much more than that. There was not one time I can remember where something was needed that I didn’t see in a care package. I almost felt bad not being able to use it all. I certainly got as much use out of what was sent as I possibly could. I even started in the beginning to send “thank you” letters to the people and even the companies, churches, etc., who have sent packages out here and again, more came before I could get those finished.

Then there are the letters from the children. There’s something very special about receiving letters like these, where a child draws a picture or writes what they feel is what they should to us. I don’t care if their teachers “make” them do it; it still means a lot to see these letters. I remember when I was in school and I did stuff like this. Even though yes, the teachers said we had to, I still had fun and really hoped my letters reached the soldiers. I’m sure many other kids feel the same way. Even though I will probably never meet these children and teenagers, I wish I could give each of them a personal THANK YOU. Considering how things look over here, that is certainly a very bright spot to the day.

Another aspect that’s very near and dear to me is the service members who have lost their lives. That still weighs very heavily on me. While I’m thoroughly excited to be coming home, there are so many who never will and so many families who will never see their loved ones again. I’d like to say THANK YOU to them as well. They gave everything they could give. I can’t even imagine feeling the way some of those families feel, but I for one, appreciate them more than words can say. I know that does not bring them back, but they will always and I mean ALWAYS hold a very special place in my heart. These are my fellow brothers and sisters who sacrificed everything.

Last but not least are my friends and family. Now they’ve heard me say this many times and read this often on my Facebook page. It’s very special to receive appreciation from my friends as well. It’s something that’s not necessarily thought of all the time, especially since we talk on almost a daily basis, but when I jump on and I see a message where a friend is asking how I’m doing or saying thank you for WHAT I’m doing, it means more than I can say. I’m a very simple person and things like that mean the world to me. It shows that we haven’t been forgotten about over here. As long as this has been going on, I see why it has become something that a lot of people don’t care to think about or even address sometimes.

So to each and every one of you, I say THANK YOU VERY MUCH. I hope that in some way, I’ve made you very proud.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

