Writing Is Boring To Some, Unpopular To Many…Which Is Why I Love It So Much

computer-use

I don’t follow the crowd. I’m not going to say “Never have, never will,” because there WAS once a time I followed what others did, simply because I was taught to do so. However, I don’t do it now and haven’t for many years. I learned a long time ago that the best way to mediocrity is to follow what the crowd is doing, which is often, not very much. The “crowd” often points fingers, judges others, makes excuses, is sometimes downright lazy, and the list goes on. When I decided that I did NOT want to be that way, I simply chose not to be.

When it comes to writing, many are bored with the mere thought of it. Writing is also not the most popular thing out there. Now it could be looked at as boring AND unpopular or it’s boring BECAUSE it’s unpopular. Either way, a lot of people genuinely are not interested in it.

Which is PERFECTLY fine with me.

I absolutely LOVE to write. I find myself writing all the time. Even though I do a lot of my writing on the computer, just having a pen, pencil, or other writing utensil in my hand is strangely comfortable and even relaxing at times. Even if I’m not actually writing something, just having something to write with in my hands means that writing is coming soon.

When I talk about writing, I get different kinds of people. I get the BEST kind, which is that person who is a writer also and we hit it off right away. I get that person who doesn’t really care much for it, but they’re the types who are genuinely interested in others, so they show interest as I talk about it. There are those who try desperately to be interested (I appreciate the effort) as the level of smoke coming out of their ears varies. Then there are those whose minds just turn off when I mention being a writer.

Writing is one of the very few things in my life that I love so much that it doesn’t matter to me in the least what others think about it. That’s called having a PASSION for something. That passion is what moves me every day. As an author and aspiring screenwriter, I don’t even have time to think about failure, because my passion simply will not allow it. I can’t say the same about a lot of other things in my life.

The funny thing is, I kind of enjoy the fact that not many people are into writing. Some days, it almost doesn’t make sense. However, when I see other writers, it makes perfect sense. We’re a unique group of people. “Unique” not meaning “better than,” but more rare than other groups. It’s sort of a welcome change from all the craziness that is life and it’s great to get away from things like that. My fellow writers are almost like distant family. I know that with them, I’ll always have something to talk about.

The popular can have the “mediocrity.” As for me, I’m much more about taking the road less traveled.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing Is Boring To Some, Unpopular To Many…Which Is Why I Love It So Much

  1. Reblogged this on Author P.S. Bartlett and commented:
    Wonderful thoughts on writing here Robert and I agree completely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

