If This Man Were Behind Your Mirror (Poem)

If this man were behind your mirror, whether in your bathroom or the hall,

Upon you prefacing with “Mirror mirror on the wall;”

I would say hello with a smile you could not see,

Since a smile would likely not be looking back at me.

If this man were behind your mirror, no inappropriate thoughts to follow,

I would see you leave sadly, hoping you’d feel better when returning tomorrow;

As I’ve seen you many times, this is regretfully not the case,

Since you don’t often seem to be pleased with your body or your face.

If this man were behind your mirror, I desperately wish this were not true,

As I fail at helping your true beauty to shine through;

You’ve been taught by the world that you’re getting uglier and/or fatter,

While the beauty in your heart no longer seems to matter.

If this man were behind your mirror, I understand this is rough,

While saying “You’re beautiful” never seems to be enough;

Because, from a man, you’ve learned this cannot be accepted,

Without believing there is more from me that is expected.

If this man were behind your mirror, it is still my job to show,

The lovely face looking back at me that there’s so much more to know;

So rather than you sighing or letting out a frown,

As you reach for that makeup, I’ll politely ask you to put it down.

If this man were behind your mirror, I know I’ve been defeated,

Each time I tell you that makeup is not needed;

See, I am not with you for the remainder of your day,

As many times, harsher words is what you would hear others say.

If this man were behind your mirror, I know those words mean more than mine,

As your deep searching in me relays that your beauty is impossible to find;

I try to let you know that your beauty in many ways, can be found,

Yet you only see every blemish, every wrinkle, every pound.

If this man were behind your mirror, I would say to look at me,

As the real you is always as beautiful as can be;

You don’t have to be ashamed to look proudly or stand tall,

As those blemishes, those wrinkles, those pounds, exist in just about all.

If this man were behind your mirror, I would tell you to ignore,

What society says you should physically have in store;

You don’t need to look like other women, so that shouldn’t be what you would dare,

As you’re all beautiful in your own ways; there’s never a need to compare.

If this man were behind your mirror, I would look deep into your eyes,

Not concerned of the imperfections existing on the outsides;

I would search into your soul for what is seen by no other,

Looking far past the wrinkles, the size, or the color.

If this man were behind your mirror, I would look at your lips,

More concerned with the words being released from your tongue’s tips;

While lipstick may bring about a more physically-attractive pucker,

Your words are more beautiful than the most polished orchestra conductor.

If this man were behind your mirror, I would take one look at your frame,

Telling you that not every woman’s body is meant to look the same;

Not your fault many are shallow, which should be no surprise,

But the beauty in your heart far outweighs your physical size.

I hope these words are met with an endearing smile,

As it may not fix everything, but hopefully helps for a while;

I just want for you to see your true beauty more clearer,

Just some thoughts of a single man; if this man were behind your mirror.

-Robert People, 7/14/15

This entry was posted in Women and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

