I Am Not Perfect…But I Do Work On Myself Each Day, Because I DO Care

not-perfect3

Of course, nobody is perfect. There’s a belief though, that people should always accept us as we are, imperfections and all. You are who you are and people need to just “deal with it.” Then there are others who understand they aren’t perfect, but continue to work to be better people.

Put me down for the latter.

Yes, I do believe to an extent that people need to accept me as I am. I’m speaking mainly of the things I cannot control about myself. That seems to be a lot of what people judge these days; what can’t be controlled. Even some of the things I can control, I still believe that to a degree, people need to accept these things.

However, I’m not going to just sit back and expect everyone to just deal with me as I am. I can stand to improve and each day and that’s exactly what I intend to do.

People often say that they “have no regrets,” but for me, that simply isn’t true. I do. Everything I’ve done has not been great and I wish I had not done them. I’m not talking about anything crazy or illegal or anything like that. Maybe some of the things that I’ve done or said that may have hurt other people. Even if something wasn’t necessarily my fault, I still do care about any pain I may have caused.

This doesn’t necessarily mean that I’m apologizing for things now. That’s not what I’m doing. I have apologized many times and those apologies have gone directly to those who I felt I needed to apologize to. I’m saying that I do actually care if I hurt other people. I’m not going to use “I’m not perfect” as an excuse to be careless or to not care about the feelings of others. I really do.

Everyone may not necessarily agree with that, but people don’t always recognize good intentions or will acknowledge when someone is being a good person. That’s the reason I say that I’m not apologizing for anything in particular right now. Something else to remember is that people sometimes expect that you apologize when you haven’t done something wrong, just because it didn’t make them happy. Well I’m not here to just make everyone happy and others should not be, either.

However, there’s a difference between not making everyone happy and aiming to hurt people. I never aim to hurt anyone. We all understand how it is when people get angry with us for no good reason. That often can’t be helped, and in many cases, an apology is not deserved.

Think about that woman who finally decides to leave an abusive relationship. As strange as this may sound, the man will be hurt once this happens. Now I know that many of you reading may feel that it doesn’t matter how the man feels. I agree. However, the pain is still there. As for the woman, she shouldn’t be apologetic for leaving him considering everything he put her through. I know that it sounds strange to believe that an abusive man would be hurt by his woman leaving him, but he would be in his own strange way. Everything doesn’t have to make sense, but that’s the way it is.

That’s what I mean when I say that I DO care about hurting others, but I’m not going to always be apologetic about it. Especially when I am mistreated in the process. I’m not a person who’s always out for revenge, nor do I hold a grudge, but it’s not always necessary to apologize when someone has hurt feelings. It’s not always your fault.

Hopefully that makes sense. My whole point is that I always try my best to be a good person and I don’t always hit the mark as I should. Every day, I do my best, but I sometimes fall short. Many times, another person being hurt is not necessarily my fault and other times, it may be.

I work on myself each day. That’s where it always has to start. I can talk about everyone else if I want to, but the only person I have the control of is me. I don’t have to wait for someone else to be a good person to me in order to wake up each morning looking to be just a little better than I was the day before.

The bottom line is this: “I’m not perfect” should be used as motivation to help you aim to be better and that you can recover from your mistakes. It should not be used as an excuse to NOT look to improve as a person, nor as a blatant excuse to just keep making the same mistakes or mistreating others.

When I say that “I’m not perfect,” it’s not a way of telling you to just “deal with me as I am.” It’s a way of saying that I DO have a desire to be a better person, even though it may not happen as I would like all the time. In many cases, I actually DO care and am doing everything I can to work on it.

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in I'm Not Perfect and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

