BLACK FOLKS, When You Feel The Need To Call Me “Coon,” “House Nigger,” “Uncle Tom” or “Sellout,” When I Don’t Agree With You, That Shows YOUR Insecurities, Not Mine

29906170001_4491541595001_4491469528001-vs

No…that’s not me. Most NFL fans know that that’s Seattle Seahawks defensive back Richard Sherman. During a recent press conference, Sherman decided to speak up about the “Black Lives Matter” movement. Here is what he said:

“…as a black man, I do understand that black lives matter. You know, I stand for that, I believe in that wholeheartedly.

But I also think that there’s a way to go about things, and there’s a way to do things. And I think the issue at hand needs to be addressed internally, and before we move on, because from personal experience, you know, you have living in the hood, living in the inner city, you deal with things, you deal with people dying. Dealt with a best friend getting killed … it was two 35-year-old black men. Wasn’t no police officer involved, wasn’t anybody else involved, and I didn’t hear anybody shouting “black lives matter” then … and I think that’s the point we need to get to is that we need to deal with our own internal issues before we move forward and start pointing fingers and start attacking other people. We need to solidify ourselves as people and deal with our issues, because I think as long as we have black-on-black crime and, you know, one black man killing another … if black lives matter, then it should matter all the time. You should never let somebody get killed — that’s somebody’s son, that’s somebody’s brother, that’s somebody’s friend. So you should always keep that in mind.”

Now, if you love Richard Sherman, throw that out for just a minute. If you hate him, same thing. If you don’t know him, you’ve made it this far, so keep reading.

I, for one, as a 36-year-old black man, completely agree with his comments. I’ve recently posted my thoughts about the whole “Black Lives Matter” movement, so I’m not going to beat that one up again. However, I am going to address the responses people like Sherman and I get when we to make statements like this that go against what the black community says.

Reading some of the comments made on this story on different Facebook and web pages, here are some of the responses:

when famous black ppl try to redeem themselves n look good in front of white ppl…the first thing they do is talk against their own black race…”

“Black coon”

In response to someone saying “Thank you” to Sherman for saying this: (Thanks for what? For selling out?! There is a way to do everything. NOW white people love him…”)

I could keep going, but you basically get the idea. If any of you are curious enough to know where I got these comments from, I’ll be more than happy to tell you. Just ask in the comments. The sad thing is that I’m pretty sure hardly anyone will ask for proof, because many of you know these types of comments are said all the time. I really don’t need to “prove” that this is what comes out of the mouths of so many blacks in our community.

One even responded to say that Sherman is “a boy in his 20s, so he really hasn’t experienced anything yet,” (Sherman grew up in Compton, California). Sherman is 27. Okay. I’m 36. I’ve dealt with racism before from whites, many times. I’ve been in the Army for more than 18 years. I’ve deployed three times (twice to Iraq, once to Afghanistan). Even though that whole “he hasn’t experienced anything yet” excuse is nonsense, just for the sake of this post, even if I accept that, what will you say about me?

Don’t worry. I already know. Most of which is in the title of this blog post.

Now, we already know that when people get on the internet, they get a little “tougher” than they would otherwise be. Most of the ones calling Sherman all these names and berating him in all these other ways wouldn’t want to see him in a dark alley by themselves. Since people always talk about “being real” and “keeping it 100,” let’s do it ALL the time. None of what’s being typed would ever be said to his face. Period.

Even if this wasn’t an all-pro, Super Bowl-winning defensive back (in other words, ME), a lot of what he’s saying is true. But again, my focus isn’t on that. I already addressed a lot of that in my blog post on September 2, titled, “Here Is Why I Don’t Support “Black Lives Matter and Never Will” (https://pplscrt79.wordpress.com/2015/09/02/here-is-why-i-dont-support-black-lives-matter-and-never-will/). 

My focus is on those of you who like to use these “choice” terms with us or any other black person whenever we don’t agree with what you say or buy into the a lot of the foolishness our community puts out. Just as the title suggests, if you feel a need to say all that, that shows how insecure YOU are, not me.

So, how come you can’t make your point without having to resort to that? Feelings hurt? Nerves struck? Can’t put an intelligent sentence together? Truth hurts?

“House Nigger” has always been a funny term to me. I get what it means. It’s supposedly that slave who “gets in good” with the slave owner and is able to work inside the house as the other slaves remain in the field. So let me ask you…when’s the last time you’ve worked in the fields as a damn slave? Let me know what part of the country has not yet outlawed slavery and then let me know what kind of slave work you do. After that, tell me about all the “slaves” who were allowed to work inside the house.

Better yet, since you’re calling ME the “house nigger,” how about you show me the last time I’ve ever worked inside a slave owner’s house while you worked out in the fields? Show me that and you might have something.

Otherwise, you’re an idiot. Next.

As far as “sellout” is concerned, “selling out” from what? From the black community? In order to “sell out” from something, I would have to owe you something and not come through. And the last I checked, I don’t owe any of you a damn thing. Oh, so because I’m black, that means I have a “responsibility” to the black community? Says who?

You can continue to believe in that sense of entitlement or that the world owes you something if you wish, but I’m an adult. I don’t play that game. I accept responsibility for my actions. I work for everything I have. I don’t let a community of people dictate what I do and I’m damn sure not brainwashed to believe that I’m “supposed” to keep an inferior mindset, putting all my shortfalls on “whitey.”

As for the comment above in which a person implied that Sherman was trying to “look good in front of white people by putting down his own race,” I’ve gotten that one a lot.

Let me tell you something. Many of you really do NOT need my help in looking bad. You’re kicking ass with that all by yourself. Just because I say something that’s the truth that you don’t want to hear does not mean I’m doing it to look good in front of some white person. I’m saying it because it’s the damn truth. Something else I get when I post comments like this is, “Notice how all white people are liking his comments…”

So the hell what? A lot of people are tired of our bullshit also and they have every right to be. They admire and respect that a person like me and even folks like Sherman will speak up against OUR community and that we have a desire to clean OUR house first before pointing the finger to everyone else and making all our issues someone else’s fault. And we have a LOT of issues. But we are in the minority and they can appreciate that.

For one thing, it’s never ALL white people. I know quite a few black folks who are tired of the nonsense also and many don’t speak up, because they’ll be raked over the coals for doing so. I don’t blame you. Not everyone is okay with confrontation and of course, you have to pick your battles. When you’re dealing with ignorant folks as many of those in our community who think this way, you’ll never be able to reason with them. Anything said, however intelligent, will be met so eloquently with “coon,” “Uncle Tom” and yeah…you know the rest.

People have said to me before that I am appearing to be just putting down my community. No. I’m speaking about those who do this. As with anything, I know that nothing applies to everyone. There’s always those bad apples that make everyone else look bad and I have a lot of patience for that, but it’s when the excuses come out that I’m not accepting. If that makes it appear that I’m simply putting down the black community, then so be it. I owe no one apologies.

When you walk into your house and it’s messy, what do you do? You either leave it alone or you clean it, right? You don’t run up and down the neighborhood, looking in everyone else’s homes to tell them to clean theirs, right?

Well hell, at least you shouldn’t. Then again…

Anyway, we have a lot of problems within our community and before we get to running around and trying to blast everyone else, we need to clean our damn houses first. It’s not like people are children. Grown adults are doing wrong and making excuses. Grown adults who know better. Then they do wrong and want to put it on everyone else. Cops, white people and all BUT themselves. Then when someone like me steps up and holds your feet to the fire, you want to call me everything in the book.

You could just say I was wrong and explain why in a cordial manner. That would be the adult thing to do. Then again, when you get defensive and start lashing out, it’s out of guilt because you know the truth. Don’t get mad with me because I said it. I’m not saying anything that people can’t see for themselves. Don’t get your panties in a bunch because white people agree, either. Like I said, they’re tired and very well should be. They don’t owe us a damn thing, either.

No one alive today has experienced slavery. NO ONE. So stop acting like you have. You can barely deal with the day-to-day stuff that you experience as it is. Stop being an embarrassment to our ancestors by acting as though you understand the struggle of being a slave. You don’t. You could not possibly understand. You bitch when your iPhone stops working for a few minutes. So seriously…have a seat.

Also, no white person today has been a slave master. So stop acting like they have been. None of them have any idea what it was like to own slaves. They owe you nothing.

Of course, there are racist white people out there. Hell, there are racist all kinds of people out there. I’m not at all making excuses for them. But this isn’t about that. This is about those of you who decide to keep resorting to these terms for the 10,000th time just because I or others like me say what you don’t agree with. Just because you don’t have the good sense to think for yourselves and we do, don’t get mad at us. Just start damn thinking for yourselves. Stop blaming everyone for everything and take responsibility for your actions. Stop blaming the entire police force for the actions of a few. We don’t like when people do that with us, correct? Stop putting everything we do wrong on everyone else.

I know the bottom line is the crab/lobster pot syndrome. As long as we stay on the same stagnant level as you and/or continue to agree with everything you say, then everything is good (that would be the crabs/lobsters staying at the bottom of the pot). However, the minute we don’t agree and we take the steps to try and better ourselves, just like the jealous crabs and lobsters who pull back the ones climbing out, many of you would rather attempt to “pull us back in” by calling us everything in the book because YOUR poor little feelings are hurt. That’s your problem, not mine.

The intelligent folks will understand exactly what I’m saying here. It’s really not that difficult to get. As I said above, I owe no apologies. It seems the older I get, the more it’s out there and I’m just tired of hearing and seeing it. Younger people is one thing. But some of you are way too old to STILL not have learned a damn thing about accepting responsibility for your own actions and not blaming everyone else. Then again, you may be beyond help if you still haven’t figured it out yet.

I’m sure quite a few reading this (if you have the ability or hell, the attention span to have made it this far) will have an issue with this. If so, take a number. Better yet, go ahead and call me all the terms in my title. Show just how insecure you to where you have to resort to all that.

It won’t make a difference to me. Been there and done that many times. It’s just funny to me now. It’s like a little kid saying I have “cooties” or calling me a “doo-doo head.” You may as well finish by saying, “So there! Nyah!”

Make sure you stick your tongue out after you say it. Makes you look a little tougher.

This entry was posted in Black community, Sellout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

