So, What’s the Difference Between Me and Every Other Aspiring Screenwriter Out There?

11011638_10153039181423801_1951838338119358548_n

The answer to this question is very simple. I have no idea. I don’t know every other aspiring screenwriter out there. So there’s no way I could sit here and honestly say what makes me “different.”

I know that these days, it’s all about competition. Even in circumstances where you can enjoy more than one of something (such as music), people still force a competition out of it.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m one of the most competitive people you could know. I’m a very friendly competitor. I love the idea of competition, but I also love the concept of having fun at the same time. I’m not hardcore about it.

As for being an aspiring screenwriter, having recently met and signed with a literary manager, there may come I time where I will have to begin talking to some very important and very BIG people in the business. I have no idea when that time will be, but I’m almost certain that whoever I speak to may wonder what makes me special and why they should give me the time of day over someone else.

I do understand why it has to be this way. This post isn’t to gripe about that. I totally get it. I just have to be honest and say that I don’t know.

I just…don’t know.

That may sound like I lack confidence, but quite the contrary. I’m confident, but very humble. I’m a very shy person in real life, but I’m also very realistic. The last thing I would ever want to do when talking an important person in the business is to BS them by saying a whole lot of this and that when realistically, I couldn’t possibly have any clue.

In other words, I can talk to you all day about how I am. However, it’s not realistic for me to tell you how I am when compared to someone else, especially when I don’t know them.

I can imagine some of you may be thinking that if I’m looking to write for Hollywood and for some actors and actresses I admire and look up to, that’s the wrong attitude to have. I understand that mindset.

Maybe it’s just my personality. I don’t have a real desire to “beat” anybody. I have a strong passion to do my best work. If it happens to be “better” than another in some way, then that’s fine. But that’s not my main goal in life. I’ve told myself a long time ago that the only person I should try to “beat” is the person I was yesterday. I’ve long ago learned that if I start doing anything other than that, then my focus becomes simply the person I’m trying to catch up to. Then there’s the feeling of slacking off once I get there.

It’s like running a race. I can’t train simply to beat a particular person. I have to train to be the best. If I focus too much on that one person (who may not even be the best him or herself), then there will be that natural tendency to want to slack off once I surpass them. And again, I don’t even know if they’re the best in the race or if I’m at my max potential.

This has always been my mindset and I feel I’ve done much better this way. Writing is a very big love of mine. I thankfully never need “motivation” to do it and I’m positive that it would not feel like “work” once I reach that point of being a professional screenwriter.  It will be work, yes, but when I look at how much I love to work on screenplays when not getting paid for them, then I know this will be the case once I do.

I haven’t really thought about the first person my literary manager could introduce me to, and I certainly haven’t thought about what I would say to him or her. My focus isn’t so much on that now and I’m pretty sure this question may not even come up.

So why am I thinking about this now? With this being such a difficult business to break into, I’m pretty sure this person, again, will wonder why they should take a chance on me and what would be so “special” about me. I wouldn’t blame them. It’s not something that’s on my mind all the time, but as I progress, I know it may come up at some point.

All I can really say is this. I love to write. I do attempt to write every day and am usually able to. I’m very confident in my talent, but I’m aware that there’s definitely room to grow and my mind is wide open to do so. I am not only a lover of screenwriting, but a student of it. I watch television and movies more to study the process now than just for entertainment.

Speaking of process, that’s another thing. I am really in love with the process. I feel that’s a big part of it as well.

On top of that, one of the biggest reasons I would love to make this happen is because of the different people I could learn from. That’s near the top of my list. Being able to work with people I could learn so much from has certainly been a dream of mine for a long time. Yes, as many other aspiring screenwriters, I would love to see my work on screen. But I am so anxious to meet people who could teach me a lot about screenwriting.

That may not have the “punch” as in saying that I’m “better than <this person> or <that person>. But I honestly have a good feeling that this will get me a lot further. Only time will tell.

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Screenwriting, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

